Beginner Technique

E-Eazy

Visit site
Hi everyone!

I am really new to golf; I only started going to the driving range about 3 weeks ago and I have never played on a course. I've watched some YouTube videos on swing technique and tried to replicate them.

I've uploaded a slightly slowed down version of my swing on YouTube as I can't attach a video to this post. It would be great if people could give me some pointers on how to improve!

Here's the link: https://youtu.be/GE0NJH_HBuk

I'm not sure if it's relevant, but I'm using an 8 Iron in the clip. Please keep in mind I'm very new to the sport haha.

Last edited:

SocketRocket

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Good start, you have a nice looking setup, it would be good to see a video taken from the front as well.

Your main problem is that you are swinging mainly with your arms and you need to rotate your legs, hips and shoulders more.

Well done so far.

E-Eazy

Visit site
Good start, you have a nice looking setup, it would be good to see a video taken from the front as well.

Your main problem is that you are swinging mainly with your arms and you need to rotate your legs, hips and shoulders more.

Well done so far.

Thanks for the feedback! I'll definitely keep that in mind next time.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
At address your weight is too much in you heels as you squat down. Stand a bit taller and get the weight even in your feet.
But more importantly, you must finish up on your right toe at the end of the swing, at the moment, both your feet are flat on the ground

Dannyj1984

Assistant Pro
Visit site