Baseball grip

Paul cobbler

Visit site
Hi all , newbie here been playing just over a year , my first question does playing with a baseball type grip greatly effect the grip, the main reason I use this method is having a form of athiritis which can weaken my fingers . Best score so far 90 on par71. So hope to break 90 this year ! Drought permitting lol;) cheers Paul M.

bignev

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I too use the baseball grip for the same reason. Though not a great golfer I dont think it makes that much
difference. This months Mag says that using the baseball grip can reduce the control you have of the
club but Ive not found that. Oh and welcome to the forum :)

scratch

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Absolutely nothing wrong with using the baseball grip, it is very effective for those who do not have strong hands. The only danger is a tendency to have an overactive right hand which can lead to turning the club over and hitting balls to the left.
You could argue though that the same person using a more conventional grip might have the opposite problem and not be able to square the clubface up at impact and therefore lose shots out to the right. You pays your money and takes your choice.

T

thecraw

Baseball grip has done me fine. Not a great golfer but I'm single figures anwd its the most natural way to me to hold a club. It was good enough for Ronan Rafferty!

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
www.justoneuk.com
If that's all you can do then don't worry about it. I would say that you still want to have your hands pretty tight together though so the hands are working together as 'one unit' so to speak, so provided they fit snug together (no separation) then no worries.

I wouldn't have thought an overlap grip would prove to be much different although I can understand why you wouldn't want to use an interlocking grip.

El Bandito

Q-School Graduate
Visit site