Will changing grip (to interlock) render custom fitting pointless?

HBaker97

Visit site
Hey all,

As some background, I'm a beginner golfer (playing around 1 year, 28+ handicap (avg 110, primarily due to always trying the "hero" shots on course, 90% consistent at range with shots) but am serious about lowering my handicap with new clubs + booking coaching sessions.

I'm booked in on Monday for a custom fitting at an American Golf attached to the range/course I'm a member at, and will ask the fitter these questions, but just wanted a neutral opinion as I know nothing about fitting / equipment.

Basically, earlier in the week, I snapped my 8 iron in 2 places at the range. It was a clean swing (didn't hit the floor), and when the guys in the AG looked at it, they said it was more likely due to the "uniflex shaft" that they use on cheaper club models not being strong enough for my swing speed. They are a Ben Sayers M8 Package set which cost 230 quid or so for: Driver, 3w, 5w, 5h, 5-sw, putter, stand bag so I can appreciate they were made of cheaper materials and they were never meant to be a long term club.

In the shop I booked a fitting as it was something I was going to look at doing anyway and I don't mind paying a premium to know I'm using the best that's available for me to help me improve.

My main concern however, is that I am currently using a baseball grip style and have been reading that an Interlock grip will help improve your game and ball control. If I am to go to my club fitting and buy, then I change my grip to interlock/get lessons, is that likely to render the fitting useless or is it more based around Height/strength etc?

Also, if I were to get custom fitted clubs, then something did change in the future (that would render them less effective), how easy is the process of getting re-adjusted or is it a whole new set again?

Any advice would be appreciated :)

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Welcome :)