Attending the flag on your putt?

Am I right in thinking that when putting, if the ball is off the green you can have the flag removed, attended or taken out. I used to think you can only have it out or left in when putting off the green.
 
Am I right in thinking that when putting, if the ball is off the green you can have the flag removed, attended or taken out. I used to think you can only have it out or left in when putting off the green.

Yes, you're right, and you don't even have to be putting.

If you asked your mate to do this at the weekend though you might get a 2 word answer! ;)


[video=youtube;aqKweki8Sxc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqKweki8Sxc[/video]
 
Last week in a bounce game I had a putt of all of 1cm for par. I walked up took the flagstick out and whilst still holding it putted it with one hand.

one of the PP told me it's a one stroke penalty as the flagstick could be deemed an assist- IE for balance. I am sure I read on here before this is a lot of rubbish can anyone clarify?
 
Last week in a bounce game I had a putt of all of 1cm for par. I walked up took the flagstick out and whilst still holding it putted it with one hand.

one of the PP told me it's a one stroke penalty as the flagstick could be deemed an assist- IE for balance. I am sure I read on here before this is a lot of rubbish can anyone clarify?

He's right if you ARE using it to balance on, but everyone I've ever seen do it is holding it off the ground. Even if it was resting on the ground, as long as you aren't leaning on it then no penalty.

If you ARE leaning on it then stop making holes in the green near the hole ;)
 
See the notes - I and it would suggest an arms length would be near the flag to attend it.

The Notes do not state where a player must stand in order to be attending the pin. They do state that you will be considered to be attending the pin if you stand near it, but that is not the same thing at all.
 
This is a serious question, are you allowed to tend the flag when you are putting? I.e. I putt with the flag in and remove the flag before the ball goes in?

Doesn't actually make any sense to do so! However that doesn't mean you are not allowed to! What you would have to do is to announce that you are attending the flagstick before you actually putt. This is because you are not allowed to remove the flagstick, to avoid it being struck, if you are not attending it! (24-1)
 
Last week in a bounce game I had a putt of all of 1cm for par. I walked up took the flagstick out and whilst still holding it putted it with one hand.

one of the PP told me it's a one stroke penalty as the flagstick could be deemed an assist- IE for balance. I am sure I read on here before this is a lot of rubbish can anyone clarify?

The act of taking it out and holing the putt whilst still holding it is not against the rules. If however you are using the flag for say balance, then you could be in breach of rule 14-3 if they claimed you were abnormally using the equipment.
 
Amazing how many people reply to threads without reading posts to date. Loads of duplication.

I read the reply by Region3 to Turkish's post, but it wasn't immediately clear to me how he was explaining it so I thought I could explain it a little differently. Turkish may have been clear, but there is no harm in hearing more than one version.
 
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course:)
 
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course:)

Yes - I believe so - two shot penalty if you knew that that is where they were standing and you didn't ask them to move. Though quite why your PPs would stand precisely where you intend to hit the ball (even if you are unlikely to succeed) I don't really know...
 
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course:)
That is what rule 17-1 says
 
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course:)

Yes. It's a 2 shot penalty if your ball hits the flagstick whilst it's being attended - no matter from where the shot is played. Which is why it's wise to make sure anyone near the flag is awake & paying attention, and ready to do your bidding by attending it properly.
 
Unless is ir without the player's authority or prior knowledge.

I should have added that before

and this is the bit that is confusing me. In my hypothetical situation I did not ask them to attend the flag and certainly from 150yds away to my knowledge they were not attending just standing near the flag..but in one of the earlier answers it appears that just by being in close proximity to the flag even if they are not touching it they are deemed to be attending it. Apologies if the rule is obvious but sometimes things don't sink in if they don't seem correct
 
and this is the bit that is confusing me. In my hypothetical situation I did not ask them to attend the flag and certainly from 150yds away to my knowledge they were not attending just standing near the flag..but in one of the earlier answers it appears that just by being in close proximity to the flag even if they are not touching it they are deemed to be attending it. Apologies if the rule is obvious but sometimes things don't sink in if they don't seem correct

As has already been responded to you, if before you make your shot you see that they are next to the flag such that they are deemed to be attending it then you are deemed to have authorised their attendence. If concerned you should advise them to leave the flag in (humour may be appropriate with this request) and, as already posted, I would ask them to get clear too. In my case I would be concerned about the consequences of hitting one of them (not because of the likelihood but because of the danger (and not a little risk of litigation etc)
 
Top