JollyRedDevil
Club Champion
Am I right in thinking that when putting, if the ball is off the green you can have the flag removed, attended or taken out. I used to think you can only have it out or left in when putting off the green.
Am I right in thinking that when putting, if the ball is off the green you can have the flag removed, attended or taken out. I used to think you can only have it out or left in when putting off the green.
Last week in a bounce game I had a putt of all of 1cm for par. I walked up took the flagstick out and whilst still holding it putted it with one hand.
one of the PP told me it's a one stroke penalty as the flagstick could be deemed an assist- IE for balance. I am sure I read on here before this is a lot of rubbish can anyone clarify?
See the notes - I and it would suggest an arms length would be near the flag to attend it.
This is a serious question, are you allowed to tend the flag when you are putting? I.e. I putt with the flag in and remove the flag before the ball goes in?
Last week in a bounce game I had a putt of all of 1cm for par. I walked up took the flagstick out and whilst still holding it putted it with one hand.
one of the PP told me it's a one stroke penalty as the flagstick could be deemed an assist- IE for balance. I am sure I read on here before this is a lot of rubbish can anyone clarify?
Amazing how many people reply to threads without reading posts to date. Loads of duplication.
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course![]()
That is what rule 17-1 saysSo just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course![]()
So just to get this clear in my mind - I lose my ball somewhere near the green so walk back up the fairway say 150 yards to replay the shot, whilst I am doing this my playing partners putt out to keep things moving. They then put the flag back in the hole but remain at the side of the hole. I then play my shot from 150yds away that amazingly hits the green and rolls into the hole without my PP's removing the flag but also without them moving away from the side of the flag, are you saying that I am penalised two shots for holing out with the flag in from 150yds away because my PP's decided to stand close to the flag in the hole? Or have i totally misinterpreted what has been said? Before some one comments with the standard of my golf where they where stood was possibly the safest place on the course![]()
Unless is ir without the player's authority or prior knowledge.Yes. It's a 2 shot penalty if your ball hits the flagstick whilst it's being attended - no matter from where the shot is played.
Unless is ir without the player's authority or prior knowledge.
I should have added that before
and this is the bit that is confusing me. In my hypothetical situation I did not ask them to attend the flag and certainly from 150yds away to my knowledge they were not attending just standing near the flag..but in one of the earlier answers it appears that just by being in close proximity to the flag even if they are not touching it they are deemed to be attending it. Apologies if the rule is obvious but sometimes things don't sink in if they don't seem correct