Jono_3
Hacker
Hi all. Hoping for a definitive answer, preferably pointing to a rule or decision if possible.
An interesting issue arose during a winter league match today - naturally we were playing winter rules/preferred lies. Format was fourball betterball.
The opponent had chipped up to the front right edge and landed between the bunker and the green. The ball was clearly on the fairway and not on the semi green. In that position he could, feasibly, mark the ball, pick it up and play a preferred lie within 6 inches by placing the ball on the green and being no nearer the hole.
He asked before he did this but as none of us could answer he played a preferred lie keeping the ball 'through the green' and off the putting green.
So the question is this, can you move your ball onto the green as a preferred lie?
An interesting issue arose during a winter league match today - naturally we were playing winter rules/preferred lies. Format was fourball betterball.
The opponent had chipped up to the front right edge and landed between the bunker and the green. The ball was clearly on the fairway and not on the semi green. In that position he could, feasibly, mark the ball, pick it up and play a preferred lie within 6 inches by placing the ball on the green and being no nearer the hole.
He asked before he did this but as none of us could answer he played a preferred lie keeping the ball 'through the green' and off the putting green.
So the question is this, can you move your ball onto the green as a preferred lie?