A Shaggy Sheep Story.

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
2,062
Location
Dorset
Visit site
I was playing at Southerndown last week where sheep are allowed to roam on the course (they may argue golfers are allowed on their pasture). We got to the 18th hole and 2 sheep were lying in the bunker to avoid the wind.

One of our balls went into the bunker (no harm to the sheep) and we were able to shoo them away without too much trouble.

However, it did make me wonder what would have happened if one of the sheep had trodden on the ball?

I presume a free drop as the ball was moved by a third party but not sure if this applied in a bunker.

I understand that if it went into an existing hoof print then you lay it as it lies. I also understand that if we couldn't move them we would be allowed a free drop (they didn't look angry so no dangerous situation).
 
The sheep is an outside agency. Stepping on the ball moves it downward. Rule 18 applies. No mention of the location of the ball when moved thus it applies everywhere.
18-1. By Outside Agency

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.
 
Last edited:
However, it did make me wonder what would have happened if one of the sheep had trodden on the ball?
I presume a free drop as the ball was moved by a third party but not sure if this applied in a bunker.

The ball must be replaced not dropped. See 20-3b for how to handle the lie having been altered (in or outside a bunker).
http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-20,20-3

I understand that if it went into an existing hoof print then you lay it as it lies. I also understand that if we couldn't move them we would be allowed a free drop (they didn't look angry so no dangerous situation).

Correct.
 
What if the ball is not trodden on, but has something else dropped on it by the sheep? Can you clean the ball or move the loose impediment? Normal rules mean that you cannot move any loose impediment in a hazard that is not man-made.
 
What if the ball is not trodden on, but has something else dropped on it by the sheep? Can you clean the ball or move the loose impediment? Normal rules mean that you cannot move any loose impediment in a hazard that is not man-made.
If the sheep dropping is adhering to the ball it is not a loose impediment so cannot be removed. Nor can it be removed if it is in the same hazard as the ball.

I'm not sure what you are referring to when you say "that is not man-made". Do you mean the hazard is not man made or the LI is not man made.

A loose impediment cannot be man made, by definition. Hazards may or may not be man made but it irrelevant to the situation anyway.
 
Top