A rule conundrum!

Martin Button

Hacker
Visit site
Hi. As an ex-rugby referee I am a bit of a rules geek and my friends come to me for golf rulings! One friend recently played a singles knock-out match that he had played (and won) and as he was telling me about it mentioned that they had started at the tenth. I immediately told him that I thought he was now disqualified but that I would look in to it further.

The rules/decisions that I considered were as follows;

Rule 2 - you must play the match over a stipulated round (i.e. in the correct order)
Rule 1-3 - you cannot agree to waive any rule (in match play disqualification for both players)

Therefore by agreeing to play the round back nine first my view was that they immediately disqualified themselves.

However;

Rule 1-3 (decision 2) - in order to be in breach of rule 1-3 the players must be aware that they are doing so (agreeing to breach the rules) and if they are not aware that they are breaching the rules there is no penalty.

Rule 6 (just to complicate matters) - the player and caddie are responsible for knowing the rules.

So, if under rule 6 the player (and caddie if appropriate) are responsible for knowing the rules, how can rule 1-3 decision 2 excuse a player who does not know the rules?

Is my friend disqualified by playing the match in the wrong order (i.e. not the stipulated round)? My friend probably should have known better. I suspect his opponent did not know the rules!

Does the fact that the result of the match has been posted (rule 2-5 decision 14) have any bearing or does the fact that agreeing to play the match in the wrong order disualify them and hence over-rule everything?

rulefan

Tour Winner
Visit site
There is no penalty for not knowing Rule 6-1.

If the players do not know Rule 2-1, they cannot make an agreement to breach it. Rule 1-3 does not apply. 1-3/2 reigns.

Martin Button

Hacker
Visit site
There is no penalty for not knowing Rule 6-1.