2 lost ball questions....

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
14,803
www.justoneuk.com
1) You're pretty sure your ball went in the bunker... when you get there you can't see the bottom of the LAKE that is now in the bunker - what's the rule?

2) You hit a nice tee shot down an undulating fairway, when you get to where you thought your ball should be you can't see it as it's now in a lake of surface water 3ft deep that has formed in one of the undulations and isn't normally there - what's the rule?
 
It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward an abnormal ground condition is in such a condition. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the abnormal ground condition. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.
If it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in an abnormal ground condition, the player may take relief under this Rule. If he elects to do so, the spot where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the abnormal ground condition must be determined and, for the purpose of applying this Rule, the ball is deemed to lie at this spot.

But the real answer is that the course should be closed...
 
Had a couple of instances of this when we last played and people were pleasantly surprised that you could get a free drop. One particularly large puddle had a fair few balls in it and we did think about slipping off the shoes and socks, rolling up the trousers and wading in to collect them. Would have done when we were juniors 40 years ago! We decided we were too old and dignified for that now!:D
 
Top