" You are playing better than your h/c"

hors limite

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I have been playing again after a "break" of getting on for 30 years for about two years. In the past few months while playing in nearly every club comp my h/c has dropped from 24 to 17 and I really feel that there is a potential to get lower.
Now to my complaint. Not every time but in comps I generally play fairly close to my h/cap or sometimes better than it hence the cuts.Something you would expect to see in an "improving" golfer. Another competition format that I enjoy is friendly seniors matchplay comps with other local clubs. In not just a few of these singles matches I have been on the end of bandit remarks or from those who are trying to express the insult in a more subtle way the use the euphemism in the heading.
On each occasion I have played fairly steady golf to around my h/c. Conversely, my opponent hasn't been within a dozen shots of their own. Ergo I have come out on top.
It seems to me that it is much too easy to trot out this banditry accusation rather than for some players to confront the reality of their own inadequate performances.
End of rant - that does feel better.

Old Skier

Tour Winner
Visit site
Most who cry bandit are normally those who are playing well over their handicap. Now I play with the seniors I get the same remark thrown at me. Beat a guy the other day who supposedly played of 20. He was upset and said he wouldn't play in the return at our club. My trump card is I always keep a card with my score on it. When I showed him my stableford score he couldn't believe it, I had only managed 32. I later found out that the person had played at another club and played of 5 took a break for 6 years, went to another club put in three cards and started with a 26 this year. Not surprisingly he has had some major wins this year.

Lydo

Assistant Pro
Visit site