Yoga / Pilates to improve flexibility

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
For the last few years I've carried a fragile back which on a bad swing day can tweek and cause some recurring issues for a few weeks until it dies down, I've also noticed that generally I'm not as flexible as I would like and I feel this could also be restricting the swing slighting in respect to the full range of other around my age group, I would say this is very evident with respect to a full shoulder turn on follow through, which I'm guessing could be holding back some swing speed.

I've spoken to a few people and general consensus is that yoga/Pilates could help with flexibility and also core stability , my question is

A) has anyone done either or both and noticed a improved in flexibility

B) apart from a random YouTube search does anyone have links to a tried and tested routine that starts of somewhere end complete novice level with maybe an improvement plan,

Thanks in advance,

spongebob59

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I did go to some yoga classes first and once I knew the correct way to do the stretches I started doing some of these routines.

I suffered with bad back, hips and shoulders over the years And yoga helps to keep me on the course these days.

Would recommend attending some classes to start with.

SGC001

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
For the last few years I've carried a fragile back which on a bad swing day can tweek and cause some recurring issues for a few weeks until it dies down, I've also noticed that generally I'm not as flexible as I would like and I feel this could also be restricting the swing slighting in respect to the full range of other around my age group, I would say this is very evident with respect to a full shoulder turn on follow through, which I'm guessing could be holding back some swing speed.

I've spoken to a few people and general consensus is that yoga/Pilates could help with flexibility and also core stability , my question is