D
Deleted Member 1156
Guest
I read an article in the rules section of National Club Golfer at the weekend that described the following scenario.
A right handed player hits his ball behind a tree and has no shot playing right handed but if he turns his club over he has a clear swing left handed. However, doing this means he is now standing in an area where he can claim relief ( cart path etc) which he is entitled to. He takes relief at the nearest point and now has a clear swing right handed.
If it is correct then it is within the rules but clearly not within the spirit of the game.
So, on the assumption that the above ruling is indeed correct, would you do this?
A right handed player hits his ball behind a tree and has no shot playing right handed but if he turns his club over he has a clear swing left handed. However, doing this means he is now standing in an area where he can claim relief ( cart path etc) which he is entitled to. He takes relief at the nearest point and now has a clear swing right handed.
If it is correct then it is within the rules but clearly not within the spirit of the game.
So, on the assumption that the above ruling is indeed correct, would you do this?