Would you do this?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted Member 1156
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted Member 1156

Guest
I read an article in the rules section of National Club Golfer at the weekend that described the following scenario.

A right handed player hits his ball behind a tree and has no shot playing right handed but if he turns his club over he has a clear swing left handed. However, doing this means he is now standing in an area where he can claim relief ( cart path etc) which he is entitled to. He takes relief at the nearest point and now has a clear swing right handed.

If it is correct then it is within the rules but clearly not within the spirit of the game.

So, on the assumption that the above ruling is indeed correct, would you do this?
 
Yes

Which section of the rules covers the spirit of the game?
 
If there is anything I have taken from the ethics training that my (American!) company insists on shoving down our throats with monotonous regularity, it is that if it does not feel right, it probably isn't.

I would not feel right acting in the way described, whatever the rules say.
 
Sounds totally wrong as far as spirit of the game goes, but in any case I'd have thought that in the vast majority of situations the nearest point of relief would be further into the tree rather than back over the cart path.
 
Sounds totally wrong as far as spirit of the game goes, but in any case I'd have thought that in the vast majority of situations the nearest point of relief would be further into the tree rather than back over the cart path.

What is this spirit of the game BS?

I have played a left handed shot many times over the years, are you suggesting the rules should only apply when I am playing my usualt right handed way
 
I read an article in the rules section of National Club Golfer at the weekend that described the following scenario.

A right handed player hits his ball behind a tree and has no shot playing right handed but if he turns his club over he has a clear swing left handed. However, doing this means he is now standing in an area where he can claim relief ( cart path etc) which he is entitled to. He takes relief at the nearest point and now has a clear swing right handed.

If it is correct then it is within the rules but clearly not within the spirit of the game.

So, on the assumption that the above ruling is indeed correct, would you do this?

Here's an extra bit that I'm not too sure on. If the right handed player takes relief from the obstruction as above, where do they class as the NPR as this can be different for left and right handed players? If the NPR is on the opposite side of the path (which it may be for a left handed player), but this means a right handed player will still be on the path...... what happens then?
 
If it is within the rules and gives me a better chance of getting the ball in the hole in as few shots as possible - I'll do it.
Played many a left handed shot rather than drop in a clearly worse position.
 
What is this spirit of the game BS?

I have played a left handed shot many times over the years, are you suggesting the rules should only apply when I am playing my usualt right handed way

I guess there are those who understand and embrace the 'spirit' of any game and those that don't. I would rather play with the former - but then I play for pleasure, not to win at all cost.
 
Slightly flawed question IMO.. If there was a genuine intention to play the shot left handed, then the option to claim relief is noticed, I don't see a problem with either aspect of the rules. If the possibility of claiming relief is spotted, then a situation engineered to claim relief, then there would be an issue with "Spirit of the game"...
 
Slightly flawed question IMO.. If there was a genuine intention to play the shot left handed, then the option to claim relief is noticed, I don't see a problem with either aspect of the rules. If the possibility of claiming relief is spotted, then a situation engineered to claim relief, then there would be an issue with "Spirit of the game"...

And in all likelihood the rules.
 
And in all likelihood the rules.

Not necessarily.. I'm fairly sure we've all seen it a few times on tour.. Someone claiming that they are going to make a shot in a specific way, only to then claim relief from a tricky situation... I can't remember who it was, but didn't someone do it a few years ago in one of the WGC Matchplay events in the Desert? Ryan Palmer maybe?? You can't prove that someone wasn't going to play a specific shot..
 
Not necessarily.. I'm fairly sure we've all seen it a few times on tour.. Someone claiming that they are going to make a shot in a specific way, only to then claim relief from a tricky situation... I can't remember who it was, but didn't someone do it a few years ago in one of the WGC Matchplay events in the Desert? Ryan Palmer maybe?? You can't prove that someone wasn't going to play a specific shot..

No you can't it is up to the honesty of the player and the judgement of the referee or committee. At the end of last year I saw John Paramor refuse relief to a player, sorry can't remember who, who was claiming that his stance was impeded by TV cables when his ball sat in the middle of a bush.
 
I'm not sure if I would

It appears it's ok to do it within the rules but I just wouldn't seem right within the spirit of the way our game is played
 
No you can't it is up to the honesty of the player and the judgement of the referee or committee. At the end of last year I saw John Paramor refuse relief to a player, sorry can't remember who, who was claiming that his stance was impeded by TV cables when his ball sat in the middle of a bush.

If it's an obvious ploy, then the ref could refuse to allow it, but can you tell me if the situation outlined in the OP is an obvious ploy?
 
Top