Which mythical rules do you see?

There's a big myth that golfers as a genre are a fine, upstanding, rule abiding group who display a high standard of etiquitte

The reality is that a not insignificant number of those who play golf are just as open to a bit of cheating, lying & downright bad manners as any other group!
 
The mythical rule I see quite a bit is when the ball has come to land on a cart path. Golfers choosing what side they prefer to drop to as if they had a choice.
 
I notice a lot when playing with Andy that anything 8 feet and under for him and he claims a gimme, for anyone else outwith 8" he sees it in!
 
Loads and loads
The teeing area is rife with myths.
I've heard from several people who have been pulled up by 'more knowledgeable' folk that
you can't stand outside the tee markers
you can't stand with one foot in front of a tee marker
you can tee it up as far back as you like

Getting relief from a staked tree is always worth a laugh too.

And yes, you can wipe any mud off your ball on the putting surface.
 
One of the biggest rule breakers is the person that started this thread!

44 points through 15 holes at my course with him on Thursday evening and I'm sure if I'm not mistaken the game he is talking about yesterday he turned in 28 points!!!!!

Get him banned the filthy bandit!

;)
 
I assume you mean wiping your ball on the putting surface i..e rubbing it on the green to clean off the mud, and not marking and cleaning your ball? If not I'm confused :confused:

Q. May a player clean his ball by rubbing it on the putting green?
A. Yes, provided the act is not for the purpose of testing the surface of the putting green. It is recommended that a ball be cleaned in other ways to eliminate any question as to the player's intentions.
 
Q. May a player clean his ball by rubbing it on the putting green?
A. Yes, provided the act is not for the purpose of testing the surface of the putting green. It is recommended that a ball be cleaned in other ways to eliminate any question as to the player's intentions.

I usually clean my balls with a towel.
 
Lots of misunderstandings around dropping. Quite a few people don't know when it's 1 club length (free drops) or when it's 2 (penalty drops), where to measure from (e.g. nearerst point of relief, point at which it last crossed the margin of the hazard, etc) and that as long as the ball strikes the course within that area it can roll another 2 club lengths as long as it doesn't end up nearer the hole.

Another very common one is the belief that you can't have the flag attended if you are off the green
 
Lots of misunderstandings around dropping. Quite a few people don't know when it's 1 club length (free drops) or when it's 2 (penalty drops), where to measure from (e.g. nearerst point of relief, point at which it last crossed the margin of the hazard, etc) and that as long as the ball strikes the course within that area it can roll another 2 club lengths as long as it doesn't end up nearer the hole.

Another very common one is the belief that you can't have the flag attended if you are off the green
Plus they take the club length drops with their massive head covers still on! ;)
 
People taking relief from a path, or steps, but refusing to drop in a bush, which happens to be the nearest point of relief from the path. They want relief from the bush too, and drop on some nice fluffy grass miles away from where their ball finished up.
 
Q. May a player clean his ball by rubbing it on the putting green?
A. Yes, provided the act is not for the purpose of testing the surface of the putting green. It is recommended that a ball be cleaned in other ways to eliminate any question as to the player's intentions.

Thanks - that's what I though you meant, just a bit slow this morning:mad:
 
This is a rule that I have been told I was wrong on, but I still follow it, as something tells me I am right :-)

In strokeplay, after finishing the hole, I believed that practice putting was not allowed. I have since been told that it is as long as you are not holding up play.

I thought it was only allowed in match play competition.
 
This is a rule that I have been told I was wrong on, but I still follow it, as something tells me I am right :-)

In strokeplay, after finishing the hole, I believed that practice putting was not allowed. I have since been told that it is as long as you are not holding up play.

I thought it was only allowed in match play competition.

It's allowed in stroke and match play.
 
Top