What's the ruling for...

Hobbit

Mordorator
Moderator
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
21,006
Location
Espana
Visit site
The scenario; your 2nd shot is blind to a par 5 over a hill, round the corner to the green. You absolutely nail it and think oops that might just get close to the green. You get over the hill and see the ball a couple of feet short of the green, and think thank God for that, it didn't get there. You hit your 3rd onto the green towards the hole, and at that point a guy comes back from the next tee and tells you they marked the ball on the green and threw your ball to the front of the green.

What's the ruling?
 
I would say that you can pick up your ball from where it ends up and place it on the green by the marker with no penalty

Then shout at him for not replacing your ball and nick his marker

But I may be wrong, but this seems fair
 
Without "cheating" and referring to the good book - ball moved by outside agency and therefore replaced in its original spot without penalty...then call the guy an ass!
 
if you thought you could hit the green you should have checked it was clear. its so easy for someone to sue you if you had hit them, lucky the guy marked your ball, i'd have tossed it ob , only kidding
 
Then shout at him for not replacing your ball and nick his marker

...then call the guy an ass!
Just correct me here & sorry for going off track but you would be shouting at him and calling him an ass for marking your ball that you hit onto the green he was on ?
Id be apologising saying i never thought id get near the green & hope ye are all ok ..

As for the ruling id be thinking the same as ye ..
 
The scenario feels similar to one where there is a running stream in play. If you don't see your ball going in you can only continue play from where you found it - even although that might be quite some distance from where, in fact, it went into the stream? The logic 'I hit the ball in this direction so it must have gone in around there' doesn't hold any water.
 
Just correct me here & sorry for going off track but you would be shouting at him and calling him an ass for marking your ball that you hit onto the green he was on ?
Id be apologising saying i never thought id get near the green & hope ye are all ok ..

As for the ruling id be thinking the same as ye ..

An ass for waiting til he'd played the ball where it lay and then telling him it had been chucked off the green.

Maybe he shouldn't have hit it but didn't expect it to get there and how many times have we all stood behind a slow group where they wait every time for greens to clear just in case they nail a shot and hit it further than they ever have in their lives (usually then proceed to top it 40yds) :)

Turns out I was wrong anyhow!
 
Top