What was your first set of irons?

phillarrow

Visit site
My first ever set of golf irons were second hand Slazenger Johnny Miller.
They were small, thin and beautiful. I had them for my first three years and I think they helped me become a better iron player... because I had to be!

I'm not sure if it's ego or nostalgia, but I'd still prefer to play with clubs that look like those if I could.

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
Mine was a pretty basic set of Dunlop cavity back clubs, pre Ashley ownership. A good starter set. Upgraded when I knew I enjoyed the game and wanted to buy some that were a bit better.

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
First set was a half set of Slazenger California from Mum's Freeman's catalogue.....Not sure they really count.
When I started playing "properly" in '93 I bought a package set of Howson DJ100s..surprisingly decent but.....
First "proper" set of irons were TopFlite Tour....back when TopFlite was a decent name in the game.
Those irons were used by the likes of Ronan Rafferty and Peter Baker - Ryder Cup players..

Bratty

Princess Pouty (Queen of Fish Lips)
Visit site
Regal irons, 3 to SW that resembled Ping Eye 2s (in appearance only!), Fazer Firepower driver, 3w, 5w and a very odd no name putter that looked like a Zebra, but weighed 5 times more! It's a wonder I stuck with this game!

Bratty

Princess Pouty (Queen of Fish Lips)
Visit site
First set was a half set of Slazenger California from Mum's Freeman's catalogue.....Not sure they really count.
When I started playing "properly" in '93 I bought a package set of Howson DJ100s..surprisingly decent but.....
First "proper" set of irons were TopFlite Tour....back when TopFlite was a decent name in the game.
Those irons were used by the likes of Ronan Rafferty and Peter Baker - Ryder Cup players..
You still play with a half set now! ??

CliveW

Tour Winner
Visit site