Weight shift

caslad81

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi all,

The pro that I have had lessons with told me that I need to have my weight 50/50 with all clubs during setup. Last night I tried setting up 60/30 with my irons and 30/60 with the woods and seemed to hit the ball better. What are your thoughts? should I listen to the pro or should I do whats most comfortable? And is there any disadvantage to the way I tried?

Thanks

benhobden

Club Champion
Visit site
Where does the other 10% go?

Seriously though, feeling slightly more on the left side for irons, and slightly more the right side for the driver works for me. That said, I'm not a pro, and that's what you pay him for!

A

Alex1975

I too have been told to keep my weight 50/50 at address, but I am also aware that I have to move my weight onto my right side on my take away and move it to my left side on follow through. with that said there is no point having it anything but 50/50 at address.

caslad81

Medal Winner
Visit site
The reason I tried it was I read an article about it on GT where the explanation behind it was that you should be turning around an axis on the right leg with woods and an axis on the left leg with irons to promote a sweep with the woods and a downward stroke with the irons almost like a stack and tilt. I think a may persevere with it for a bit to see how a get on.

Twire

Global Moderator
Visit site
The reason I tried it was I read an article about it on GT where the explanation behind it was that you should be turning around an axis on the right leg with woods and an axis on the left leg with irons to promote a sweep with the woods and a downward stroke with the irons almost like a stack and tilt. I think a may persevere with it for a bit to see how a get on.

Your right, weight on the left will help you hit down onto the ball, and weight on the right will help yo sweep the ball. But be careful not to over do it as this will make weight transfer more difficult.