Weather Website!!

wbox

Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm a university student currently working on a dissertation as part of my Geography degree.

I'm trying to find ways to improve the presentation and overall quality of internet weather forecasts - making them more user specific and applying the forecasted weather conditions to where you'll be and what you'll be doing.

As part of my background research, I'm just trying to get an insight into golfers think make the perfect internet weather forecast? What sort of weather information do you need to see? How would this be best presented to you?

If you could spare a couple of seconds quickly noting down ideas regarding the following points, I'd be really grateful!

- What do YOU as a golfer require from an online weather website?
- What are some of the problems you've encountered with them?
- What changes would you suggest be made to them?
- What would you like to see more /less of?

Many thanks!!
wbox.

B

birdieman

wbox,
Golfers need to know temperature and precipitation so we know what and how much gear to wear. A wind forecast also helps in deciding which clubs to carry and what ball to play.
Therefore existing websites like the weather channel, met office, bbc etc are all ok by my book.
As UK golfers we fully expect to get the 4 seasons in one day experience on the course so never leave the waterproofs in the car!
Sorry can't offer anything more insightful.

wbox

Visit site
Hi birdieman,

So in response to your comments - would you find some suggestion of "what club to carry and ball to play" useful on a website?

What I mean is, would you like the website to suggest these things for you, or even make suggestions as to what sorts of clothes to take out with you?

Maybe the site could suggest where the best weather is going to be in your local area, and perhaps highlight which golf course is going to have the best weather?

Thanks for your comments - keep them coming!!

B

birdieman

wbox,