Watching golf live, as in being th

D4RK1

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Howdy folks. Just wondered how many of you have ever been to watch the golf? I'm fairly new to the game, I've always watched it when it's been on the tv and have taken it up seriously over the last 3 years. However I've never been to watch the pros out on the course. I wouldn't even know where to start, to get tickets? If that's what you do?

Every other sport I've been into, football, mountain bikes, cars etc I've been to watch the best in the world in action. Golf however I'm yet to see. I imagine its something that needs to be seen in person to fully appreciate. Similar to the F1. The sounds, speeds and smell are something that the tv just cannot get across. I imagine the drives and shot making abilities of the pros would leave me in awe.

So how many have been to watch the golf, and where did you go? How did you go about getting tickets and what are the rough costs?

Mark

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I go to the BMW PGA at Wentworth but usually go the practice day on the Wednesday for the pro am or even the Tuesday. If you go, get to the range and watch how the pros prepare and how they hit it. Watch them on the course and how they plan their round

D4RK1

Assistant Pro
Visit site
So do you just turn up on the day and pay at the gate? I'd love to go to one of the golf clinic sessions I've seen on you tube etc. But how do people find out about these things? Forgive my ignorance :D

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Closest to Walsall could well be next year's Open - at Royal Liverpool/Hoylake.

Worth checking out the R&A Site nearer the time.

Practice or Pro-Am days are pretty good for getting close. Actual tournament days are more crowded and much more controlled. I believe that TV gives better coverage of Golf than actually being there - unless you want to follow a particular group/competitor. And that's having 3 Opens and half a dozen PGAs.

stevek1969

Money List Winner
Visit site