Mr Hip
Medal Winner
I have been thinking about the proposed embedded ball rule. Suppose you are playing a links course and you hit your ball into the gorse. It's far enough in that you can't get a swing at it but it has settled into a sandy patch and is apparently "embedded". Only the player can declare a ball unplayable, so is this a penalty drop, because a blind man on a galloping horse can see that there is no stance or swing, or a free drop? Also, is there a proposed or actual definition of "embedded"?