DingleBerry
Assistant Pro
Come on that's a bit harsh!! But rules are rules and u can impose them but the friendlier way is to point out to him and if happens again penalty 
The problem is that you are "calling" a very debatable point. You have to accuse the player of "testing " the conditions and if he maintains he wasn't how do you proceed?
The rules certainly say that you can touch the sand in certain circumstances - in fact, if you choose to, you can walk into the bunker with 4 different clubs and lay the 3 you choose not to play out with, in the bunker.You would clearly touch the sand with all 3 clubs so how is that not "testing" but lifting the rake with a club and touching the sand is "testing".
• kicking the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard;
Complicated, of course. But the R&A's response to queries about Rules like this is that there has to be a clear cut-off point somewhere. The Rules book would be twice the size of the Decisions book if there was a sub-clause for every conceivable scenario, and we all know it's big enough as it is.
But who would decide what did and didn't constitute a divot... to play devil's advocate in this old chestnut that crops up pretty frequently? One man's divot is another's minor indentation/shallow surface scrape/small bare patch etc