Touching Balls on Fairway (Almost)

srixon 1

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
5,338
Location
Dorset
Visit site
At the weekend I was playing a singles match play game, the following happened on the par 4 15th hole:confused:

We both teed off and hit our balls down the middle of the fairway. When we reached them we discovered that both balls had come to rest within 10 mm of each other, mine was marginally ahead of the other. Fortunately both balls were on a gravel road which we were allowed a free drop from. The balls were marked, dropped, and duly played without incident.

However, if the balls had finished in this position but on the fairway what would happen?

Obviously I mark my ball so that my opponent can play his shot, but what happens then? Do I have to replace my ball in the exact spot that it came from, but in doing so I will more than likely be putting the ball in a divot?

Is this classed as a rub-of-the-green, or can I place the ball as close as possible to its original position but replicating its original lie?
 
At the weekend I was playing a singles match play game, the following happened on the par 4 15th hole:confused:

We both teed off and hit our balls down the middle of the fairway. When we reached them we discovered that both balls had come to rest within 10 mm of each other, mine was marginally ahead of the other. Fortunately both balls were on a gravel road which we were allowed a free drop from. The balls were marked, dropped, and duly played without incident.

However, if the balls had finished in this position but on the fairway what would happen?

Obviously I mark my ball so that my opponent can play his shot, but what happens then? Do I have to replace my ball in the exact spot that it came from, but in doing so I will more than likely be putting the ball in a divot?

Is this classed as a rub-of-the-green, or can I place the ball as close as possible to its original position but replicating its original lie?


I think you are allowed to re create your lie as was before the other ball was played.
 
I may be wrong, but I 'think' the player who has marked is entitled to recreate the original lie as near as possible within one club length of the original spot not nearer the hole, and the ball can't be cleaned.
 
If the lie of the ball that has been lifted has been changed, you place it in a lie as similar as possible within a club length, not nearer the hole and not in a hazard. See Rule 20-3b.

You only "recreate" the lie if the balls are in a bunker.
 
If the lie of the ball that has been lifted has been changed, you place it in a lie as similar as possible within a club length, not nearer the hole and not in a hazard. See Rule 20-3b.

You only "recreate" the lie if the balls are in a bunker.

Thanks, I thought that was the answer but when I looked in the rules I could not find the rule that I was looking for:)
 
Top