Total Confusion

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
Educate me please, playing in a board comp today, strokeplay comp, was 2 under handicap playing our Par 5 16th.

Decent drive (Ball A) finds fairway, plays a shocker of a second and puts ball A into deep thorn bushes 50 yds ahead on left hand side across a ditch.

Decide ball A is lost and take a drop from were I played last shot.

New ball (Ball B) is topped 100 yds into rough but visible, start walking to ball B to play 5th shot when one of the group says here's your ball. (ball A)

I then go into a gap in the thorn bushes and see I can play it out backwards, attempt to play it backwards and put it in ditch.

Annoyed at myself I stopped and thought of the actions I had carried out.

Totally messed up didn't know what I was doing or should of done.

Picked up both balls and declared NR for the hole.

Please feel free to pull me to bits ( politely 😃) and educate me please.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Educate me please, playing in a board comp today, strokeplay comp, was 2 under handicap playing our Par 5 16th.

When you dropped the second ball it became the ball in play. The original is officially "lost." Rule 15-2.
 
Last edited:
So did me playing ball A again incurr any penalty or was I just wasting time messing on with it?
 
Educate me please, playing in a board comp today, strokeplay comp, was 2 under handicap playing our Par 5 16th.

Decent drive (Ball A) finds fairway, plays a shocker of a second and puts ball A into deep thorn bushes 50 yds ahead on left hand side across a ditch.

Decide ball A is lost and take a drop from were I played last shot.

New ball (Ball B) is topped 100 yds into rough but visible, start walking to ball B to play 5th shot when one of the group says here's your ball. (ball A)

I then go into a gap in the thorn bushes and see I can play it out backwards, attempt to play it backwards and put it in ditch.

Annoyed at myself I stopped and thought of the actions I had carried out.

Totally messed up didn't know what I was doing or should of done.

Picked up both balls and declared NR for the hole.

Please feel free to pull me to bits ( politely 😃) and educate me please.

As you weren't sure of what to do , I think you could have declared and invoked rule 3-3 and played out the hole with both balls , reporting this to the committee before returning your card .
 
Last edited:
As you weren't sure of what to do , I think you could have declared and invoked rule 3-3 and played out the hole with both balls , reporting this to the committee before returning your card .

Indeed, thus would have been an option here. At which point the committee would advise him how many he took.
 
If you declare a provisional ball, then you keep your options open .
You never know when it's going to hit a tree and bounce out
You don't keep all your options open, you don't have the option to play the second ball if the first one is found. If you're absolutely sure that the first ball will be either lost or totally unplayable you can put another in play & save the time it would take to walk forward, confirm your worst fears, walk back & play another one. This is assuming stroke & distance is a better option to taking an unplayable & dropping under penalty.
 
If you declare a provisional ball, then you keep your options open .
You never know when it's going to hit a tree and bounce out
Didn't declare a provisional as I had no intention of climbing into the thorn bushes lokking for it, it was only when it was found I got myself mixed up, had a decent card going and started over thinking, should've ignored it.
Thanks for the help all
 
Top