Topped Shots!?!

ColeTrain

Medal Winner
Visit site
Right then,

I am an average beginner of the game, using a flat half swing.

My bad shot is the topped one, I probably hit around 10 a round, which go anywhere from 20yds to 70yds dependant on club.

I was talking to a friend and his advice was to lock the left leg up as he thinks I am swaying in shot (although he has never seen me play).

I will some times try to hit lower on the ball resulting in a divot before the ball.

What could you lads suggest

Thanks

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I had a few topped ones the other day. They are almost as scary as the shot that should not be mentioned.

Trouble with a top is that I reckon there are 3 possibles (correct me if I'm wrong).

1) Simply swinging above the ball......either coming up on the backswing or losing balance somehow.
2) Getting through the ball too well......like a divot that starts after the ball by miles, as if playing a 3 wood shot with a 7 iron!
3) the "classic" thin, which is the opposite of the one above.....where the low point is too far before the ball and the clubhead is rising above the ball's equator once it gets there.

I can usually fix any of them just by staying down and watching the ball extra hard through impact.

ColeTrain

Medal Winner
Visit site
If the downswing was too quick would that result in hitting above the desire area, I think due to only hitting just over half a swing I am trying to get too much power on the shots to compensate for the rest of the swing? Not sure

Adrena1in

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
My topped shots nearly always come from me trying to hit the ball too hard...did about 7 in a row at the range the other day with the driver...and I tend to lean back and stand up, hitting upwards at the ball or lifting my clubhead off the ground.) If you're taking a half-swing then perhaps you are trying to compensate and it's causing you to get out of position.

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
keep your head down