• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Those plastic hole inserts on greens: are they immovable obstructions?

cliveb

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3,316
Visit site
My home club uses those horrid plastic/astroturf inserts to fill in old hole positions instead of just using the core they've cut for the new hole. (Don't ask me why, they just do).

Question is: do they count as immovable obstructions so that relief may be taken (rule 16.1d, I think)?
I'm 99% certain they must be, but just wanted to check.
 
My home club uses those horrid plastic/astroturf inserts to fill in old hole positions instead of just using the core they've cut for the new hole. (Don't ask me why, they just do).

Question is: do they count as immovable obstructions so that relief may be taken (rule 16.1d, I think)?
I'm 99% certain they must be, but just wanted to check.

In my opinion yes. They meet the definition of an Obstruction as they are man made. Remembering you only get line of play relief if your ball is on the green.
 
My home club uses those horrid plastic/astroturf inserts to fill in old hole positions instead of just using the core they've cut for the new hole. (Don't ask me why, they just do).

Question is: do they count as immovable obstructions so that relief may be taken (rule 16.1d, I think)?
I'm 99% certain they must be, but just wanted to check.
As hole positions are being changed a couple of times a week, are your greens covered in these?

Are these not covers over a drain hole on the green?

I would think you should get relief is they are on your line.
 
My home club uses those horrid plastic/astroturf inserts to fill in old hole positions instead of just using the core they've cut for the new hole. (Don't ask me why, they just do).

Question is: do they count as immovable obstructions so that relief may be taken (rule 16.1d, I think)?
I'm 99% certain they must be, but just wanted to check.

16.1a. When Relief Is Allowed​

 
Would he get relief though? The guesses are 'probably' but they are still just that.
Not sure I understand you, the rule is clear the player gets relief when the ball is on the putting green and an abnormal course condition interferes on the line of play. A hole plug made from manmade material is a ACC by definition.
 
Not sure I understand you, the rule is clear the player gets relief when the ball is on the putting green and an abnormal course condition interferes on the line of play. A hole plug made from manmade material is a ACC by definition.
It wasn't clear to myself or the other posters, otherwise the question and posts wouldn't have been made. It was a simple question, is that classed as abnormal or not? You state the answer is yes, that's what posters were wanting clarification on.

What is clear to some is not always clear to others. It's pretty much the point of this whole section.
 
Now its answered
Here’s a slightly related random irritation. Home club (like most) use the core to refill the old hole but they don’t typically insert the core taking care to have the grain/nap in the same direction as the surrounding bit of green o_O
 
Now its answered
Here’s a slightly related random irritation. Home club (like most) use the core to refill the old hole but they don’t typically insert the core taking care to have the grain/nap in the same direction as the surrounding bit of green o_O
My random linked irritation is my approach usually ends up right next to the old position and nowhere near the new hole position that I was aiming at.
 
As hole positions are being changed a couple of times a week, are your greens covered in these?

Are these not covers over a drain hole on the green?
Good point. There's usually only one per green, although I'll admit I have never counted them. You only notice them when one is close by. I'm pretty certain they aren't covering drain holes. So why there aren't more of them is a mystery.
 
Now its answered
Here’s a slightly related random irritation. Home club (like most) use the core to refill the old hole but they don’t typically insert the core taking care to have the grain/nap in the same direction as the surrounding bit of green o_O

That is because the core is inside the removal tool and they would have no way of seeing the direction of grain inside the tool before using the tool to put it in to the old hole. The tool is probably laid to one side and the new whole prepped first.

An annoyance I agree.
 
Good point. There's usually only one per green, although I'll admit I have never counted them. You only notice them when one is close by. I'm pretty certain they aren't covering drain holes. So why there aren't more of them is a mystery.
Ok, I played today and made a point of checking them out more carefully.

There's only one per green. You can also clearly see other locations where old holes have proper cores inserted. So just what those solitary plastic inserts are for is a mystery. I'll ask our head greenkeeper next time I see him.
 
As I said, I think these will be drain hole covers. Are they on low lying points on the greens? I’ve seen these on a few courses.

Edit…IMG_2459.jpeg
 
Follow up... I finally got to ask the head greenkeeper about them.
He told me that they are covering where the hole will next be moved to. They cut the next holes ahead of time so they have less stuff to deal with on the day. Our club isn't rolling in cash and only has a limited number of greens staff, so saving time is important.
 
Top