Thinking of buying a brand new set of golf clubs

Eas85

Visit site
Hi all, I'm just after some advice really.

I've been playing golf for about 3 years (I started when I was about 15 but gave up after developing a wicked slice). I bought a second hand set of Howsen irons, and I also have a Dunlop driver and a benross 4H which I can't really use. I generally play at about 50 shots over par (not including airswings) and I'm not really improving at all. I tend to top the ball a lot and even miss it a bit too. I'm aware of early extension and do try and stay down as much as possible but I've recently been thinking that my clubs are too short for me as I'm 6"3.

I walked into American Golf the other day just to basically ask if I needed longer clubs, which they said yes and without doing a proper fitting but looking at the chart on the wall I'd need something like an extra 1/2 inch on the shaft and +3 degree upright lie angle. I've been looking around at iron sets but it's quite difficult as I'm left handed. American Golf have 84 sets of irons for right handers, but just 11 sets for left handers. One of their cheapest sets are the Wilson D200 which on golf digest are stated as being a 'super game improvement iron'.

Is this what I need and would the D200's be a good buy?

Note that I've never had any lessons. I've been meaning to but now I'm not sure if it would be better to get new clubs and then have lessons, or the other way around?

I'd really appreciate any advice as I've been feeling quite downhearted with the game at the min.

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Visit site
Heyup me man and welcome to the forum. To be honest it is a bit like chicken and egg. Which comes first, lessons or clubs.