Taking too much divot pre connection.....

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm going from one problem to the next at the moment. I'm a newbie so I'll give a timeline of past 2 months with regards to my iron shots....

1)was thinning and topping the ball a lot with no loft
2) my dad told me to get more loft try puttng more weight on my left hand side
3) started getting reasonably straight, lofted flights which was great until.....
4) had a lesson and was told I was punching my shots instead of following through..... Started making sense why I wasn't getting up and down shots and they would run and run when the ball hit the ground.... Ie landing on the green could be a nightmare as would often skid off
5) started following the pros advice trying to follow through, have hips rotate to target and finish with club round other side for full swing.... On the driving range was getting good motion with this but rubber mate a lot different from grass
6) on the course so many times I'm taking so much divot. Sometimes as long as a foot long and 1/2" thick(green keepers must love me)
7) had another lesson with a range Pro last week and worked on my posture, ball positioning and feet positioning.. Was told it should help
8) played again today still happening a lot???

any help appreciated- any drills or advice?

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
currently the issue is hitting most iron shots fat, heavy, ground before ball?

{on the pretty decent shots if you draw aline from ball to target which side of that line does the ball direction normally start?
if you have curvature in the ball flight with the longer clubs which way does the ball curve?}

it that's the case there's still too much weight on the trail leg at impact.