Swing Reconstruction!!

ritchieis

Medal Winner
Visit site
I have been working on changing my swing for the past few months as I suffered from a slice with my driver and long irons. As I am fairly new to the game I decided that I might as well fix my swing now instead of starting off on the wrong track and this then becoming ingrained.

I purchased some instructional books such as Hogan's 5 Fundamentals, Tigers How I play golf and a Leadbetter book. All have similar fundamental points and I have altered my set up and swing in line with the recommendations contained in the books. I now have a flatter, less upright shape and a more simple swing with far less moving parts. It has eradicated the slice for the most part and I now hit a draw when I am hitting it well with irons and woods.

However, I have the occasional off day down at the range and on days like these I have no control over where the ball ends up. I slice, hook and push the ball straight right. I can not understand why this is. The only thing which does not feel right on these occasions is my shoulder turn. I feel that I really need to force myself into that position at the top of the backswing where your back is facing the target and shaft parallel to the target line. This feels unnatural to me and I was wondering if this is something which I just need to keep working on in order to get muscle memory and create flexibility in the relevant muscles? If I am not getting to this position correctly and leading the swing by turning the left hip could this be the reason for the off shots which I have mentioned above?

I have 4 lessons to take which I will do over the next month or so, but I was hoping for some feedback to take to my next range session. I will also try and get my swing on the site soon but do not have a digital camera at the moment.

Thanks so much for your help, I have found this forum invaluable to date and much appreciate anyone's comments. Apologies for the long post.

slugger

Tour Rookie