stiff or x-stiff shafts

beutel

Visit site
hi,

i just restarted playing golf after taking 2 years of to focus more on the gym and now im hitting it way to long for my regular shafts.
im hitting my 7 iron 200yds carry with my regular flex shaft, but the club feels like a noodle and the ballflight pretty high too.

my driver is waaaay to high with a carry about 280yds.

With a stiffer shaft i would it longer and it would feel better.
should i rather use stiffs or x-stiff shafts?

thanks for all answers!

Backache

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I have no practical experience at all being slow swing speed. However my understanding from reading is that flexes are not standard and the position of the 'kick point' has as much influence as the flex.
So if the feel of standard is not right for you I would try different options rather than assume one is better.

abjectplop

Hacker
Visit site
Simple answer.....see a club fitter who'll fit you with the right shaft. Even within stiff/extra stiff they'll be multiple shaft options.

If you're not intending buying new clubs, see the fitter, get your specs then buy 2nd hand off eBay, golfbidder etc.

And if you're carrying a 7 iron 200 yards, your driver should be much longer than 280 yards!

wjemather

Visit site
hi,

i just restarted playing golf after taking 2 years of to focus more on the gym and now im hitting it way to long for my regular shafts.
im hitting my 7 iron 200yds carry with my regular flex shaft, but the club feels like a noodle and the ballflight pretty high too.

my driver is waaaay to high with a carry about 280yds.

With a stiffer shaft i would it longer and it would feel better.
should i rather use stiffs or x-stiff shafts?

thanks for all answers!
You should get fitted by a professional and ignore any other advice you get (especially on the internet).

srixon 1

Journeyman Pro
Visit site