"Setting the club" at the top of the back swing.

One Planer

Global Moderator
Visit site
When I first started lessons, one of the things, along with a laundry list of other things I didn't do, was set the club at the top. With having quite a flat swing plane and returning from a wrist injury, it felt very uncomfortable even if I tried.

Now, since I've been working through the drills my pro gave me, my swing is now much steeper and my hands are in a much better position at the top.

As a complete by-product, I.E Not consciously working on it, I have started to set the club at the top of my back swing with zero pain/discomfort and it actually feels quite natural. This is something I have never done before so, invariably, I have some questions. So, here goes:

1. When I set the club at the top of the back swing, the shaft is paralell to the ground. Is this enough or should it go further, or is that considered an "Over-Swing"?

2. At the top, with the club paralell, the shaft points, roughly, own the target line. Is this correct?

3. Is setting the club at the top a neccery part of the golf swing or is it an under/over rated as a segement of the swing?

I'm in the process of emailing my pro to seek his thoughts but would be curious to here some opinions on this from the forum :thup:

CMAC

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
1. When I set the club at the top of the back swing, the shaft is paralell to the ground. Is this enough or should it go further, or is that considered an "Over-Swing"? in my opinion its enough- lots overswing successfully though

2. At the top, with the club paralell, the shaft points, roughly, own the target line. Is this correct? yes

3. Is setting the club at the top a neccery part of the golf swing or is it an under/over rated as a segement of the swing? most will 'set' the club by the time the left arm is parallel to the ground