Semi lost ball?

If you believe what you wrote is correct then you should read it.

I've been trying to find clarification in the rules without success, if you have free time on your hands perhaps you can find it and post a link?
 
Just an aside on this one... Arises from the fact I was going to quibble about one of the earlier replies until I found I was wrong.

Anyone got any suggestions as to why Rule 27/1a says that the player is deemed have proceeded under stroke & distance after making a stroke at the ball at the position last played. Whereas Rule 20/4 makes it clear that the ball would be in play as soon as it is dropped.

Seems to me that 27/1a implies a decision to play under S&D is reversible up to the point of the stroke but 20/4 is clear it's only reversible up to the point of the drop.
 
Just an aside on this one... Arises from the fact I was going to quibble about one of the earlier replies until I found I was wrong.

Anyone got any suggestions as to why Rule 27/1a says that the player is deemed have proceeded under stroke & distance after making a stroke at the ball at the position last played. Whereas Rule 20/4 makes it clear that the ball would be in play as soon as it is dropped.

Seems to me that 27/1a implies a decision to play under S&D is reversible up to the point of the stroke but 20/4 is clear it's only reversible up to the point of the drop.

This is the point I'm trying to make. I was told by my opponent that the ball is effectively declared lost once he decides to walk back. This clearly isn't the case and the 2 rules you quote are the ones I found on this subject. I agree, they appear to contradict each other.
My opponent was clearly wrong as I found his ball BEFORE he got back to where he played his original shot.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
This is the point I'm trying to make. I was told by my opponent that the ball is effectively declared lost once he decides to walk back. This clearly isn't the case and the 2 rules you quote are the ones I found on this subject. I agree, they appear to contradict each other.
My opponent was clearly wrong as I found his ball BEFORE he got back to where he played his original shot.

As long as you have found it within the 5 minutes :thup:
 
As long as you have found it within the 5 minutes :thup:

Nope, thats the problem. He didn't think we would find it so started walking back (within 5 mins IMO) but when I called him back he said no, ball is lost. Worked to my advantage as I won the hole but I didn't feel comfortable about it.
 
Nope, thats the problem. He didn't think we would find it so started walking back (within 5 mins IMO) but when I called him back he said no, ball is lost. Worked to my advantage as I won the hole but I didn't feel comfortable about it.

Rules are rules and people punish themselves unfairly when they don't know them, I did it myself last week as I wasn't sure on the ruling of a plugged ball on the fringe of the green, needless to say I know it now.
 
Drive4show.
If you found his ball within 5 minutes of starting the search, that ball was in play whatever he said. By continuing to go back and playing from where he played his previous shot he is proceeding under 27 -1a, "stroke and distance". The moment he dropped the second ball if he wasn't on the tee, or made a stroke at the ball if he was on the tee, the original ball which you were standing beside and could see clearly is "lost".
It's a fun game this golf, when you can find a lost ball that remains still lost an.d can lose a ball that is clearly to be seen.
 
Last edited:
Rules are rules and people punish themselves unfairly when they don't know them, I did it myself last week as I wasn't sure on the ruling of a plugged ball on the fringe of the green, needless to say I know it now.

This raises an interesting point. I was unsure of the rule, my opponent appeared 100% sure so I bowed to his 'superior' knowledge yet he was wrong.
 
This raises an interesting point. I was unsure of the rule, my opponent appeared 100% sure so I bowed to his 'superior' knowledge yet he was wrong.

Technically he'd have lost the hole as he played the wrong ball so no great problem I suppose, could have been had he won the hole and match though.
 
Rules are rules and people punish themselves unfairly when they don't know them, I did it myself last week as I wasn't sure on the ruling of a plugged ball on the fringe of the green, needless to say I know it now.

...and? I recently had a ball plugged in the fringe of a green. I couldn't think of any reason why I would get relief so I played it - not a great outcome but as not one that ultimately affected the result I didn't later think to ask...
 
Top