Rules Quiz II - true or false?

Thread starter #1

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,249
  1. "Line of flight" relief is allowed in the Rules of Golf.
  2. You cannot practice on the putting green of the hole last played.
  3. You may not change the type of ball you are playing between holes.
  4. You can't lay your clubs down in a hazard.
  5. You always have to ask your opponent/fellow competitor before fixing a ball mark.
  6. You must remove the ball before the flagstick when you've holed out from off the green.


 
Thread starter #2

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,249
BTW, these quizzes were inspired by the Rules misconceptions in the unplayable ball thread.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
1,081
Location
Leicester
1. is true. Line of play relief is permitted under the rules from Temporary Immovable Obstructions, though a local rule is required.

The rest are false.
 

pogle

Head Pro
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
277
1. is true. Line of play relief is permitted under the rules from Temporary Immovable Obstructions, though a local rule is required.

The rest are false.
I suspect that the OP meant that dropping the ball back on its line of flight to where it ended up is allowed, rather than dropping the ball back on a line from where it came to rest (or crossed the margin of a water hazard) and the flag. A common misconception.

But yes, line of sight relief is available for TIOs if the appropriate LR is in place.
 
Thread starter #6

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,249
I suspect that the OP meant that dropping the ball back on its line of flight to where it ended up is allowed, rather than dropping the ball back on a line from where it came to rest (or crossed the margin of a water hazard) and the flag. A common misconception.

But yes, line of sight relief is available for TIOs if the appropriate LR is in place.
Imo, "line of flight" is not the same as "line of sight". "Line of flight" is the path the ball took to get to it's current position, "line of sight" is the path from the ball's current position to the hole.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
27,502
Perhaps 2. is pedantically true if you have finished the hole, but your playing companions have not (not sure if this only applies if one of the players to finish is a partner).
 
Top