• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Rules question at the Omega

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
3,711
Visit site
When Hend played his second shot into 18 (what a brilliant shot btw) he was through the green and got a free drop because the ball was near the hordings.

Now I always thought you got a one club length from where the ball was positioned, but Head took his stance with club and took the one club length from where his clubhead was positioned.

So I take it from this if I got a one club length free relief I could do the same is that correct?
 
When Hend played his second shot into 18 (what a brilliant shot btw) he was through the green and got a free drop because the ball was near the hordings.

Now I always thought you got a one club length from where the ball was positioned, but Head took his stance with club and took the one club length from where his clubhead was positioned.

So I take it from this if I got a one club length free relief I could do the same is that correct?


Yes you could. Relief from immovable obstruction. Nearest point of relief no nearer the hole and then 1 club length from there. http://www.barryrhodes.com/2010/04/nearest-point-of-relief.html


Thank you may be getting a little crossed over with an unplayable ball where one of the available options is 2 club lengths from where it lies.
 
Last edited:
When Hend played his second shot into 18 (what a brilliant shot btw) he was through the green and got a free drop because the ball was near the hordings.

Now I always thought you got a one club length from where the ball was positioned, but Head took his stance with club and took the one club length from where his clubhead was positioned.

So I take it from this if I got a one club length free relief I could do the same is that correct?

From what i was aware, all free relief situations involve taking FULL relief before getting an additional one club length.
 
Yes you could. Relief from immovable obstruction. Nearest point of relief no nearer the hole and then 1 club length from there. http://www.barryrhodes.com/2010/04/nearest-point-of-relief.htmlThank you may be getting a little crossed over with an unplayable ball where one of the available options is 2 club lengths from where it lies.
Thanks for the answer and link, good to understand another rule better.Btw I know about the 2 club lengths for a unplayable ball
 
The nearest point of relief can include your stance if the obstruction is behind you, then you have one club length from there NNTH.
 
Off the top of mine.

25-3
The recommended local rule for seamed turf.
Any local rule excluding interference to stance.

25-3 is still relief to NPR plus 1 club length; it's just that interference relates to the ball rather than the more general ball, stance and swing.
 
It helps to know what you are getting relief from. In the case of an IO it is interference. Interference with the area of intended swing or interference with stance. In either case, but especially with stance, you must determine where the ball should be when the interference is avoided. So you take your stance, avoiding the obstruction, then place your club as if to swing and that is the NPR. Then, you get a club length from there.
 
Top