rule question - yardage maker

level5s

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
387
Location
Aberdeen
Visit site
the fairways at my course have a 150 yard mark inserted in the ground. an astroturf panel would be a close description. This panel made my playing partners stance uncomfortable as he had the inside of his feet touching it. unsure if he could take relief he played it, could he have taken relief?

thanks
 
Almost certainly....but local rules apply.

We have disks, if the ball is on the disk (normally up against the grass collar) or if interferes with stance you can take relief.
 
You'd have to check for a local rule as I don't think it is covered in the rules as an immovable obstruction. We have poles on the side of fairways at 200, 150 and 100 and we are allowed to remove those to play shots if they are in the line of the shot or interfere wih stance and swing
 
Homer......do you feel that all immovable obstructions should entitle the player to a free (relief) drop?

I only say this, because I played with a chap the other day who had to chip out sideways from a lie 2 inches from a ball cleaning post (thick wooden stake with green plastic box on top).

He wasn't sure what to do, I couldn't establish if it was "an integral part of the course" so he played it as it lay. Seemed unduly harsh, he had a perfectly easy chip onto the green.

Incidentaly, did you know that the R&A have re-ruled on the "Cink" bunker incident. If I've got it correct, you can now rake a bunker (in the interests of keeping the course tidy) even if your ball is in another bunker...

Hooray.....some common sense at last.


As far as I'm concerned, I think it would be fairest to say that players should ALWAYS get relief from any immovable obstuction that is on the course and isn't part of the natural fabric.....
 
Mmm interesting point. My understanding is that if it isn't covered by a local rule you had to play it as it lies. It seems unfair to make a guy go out sideways from a ball cleaner and it probably needs clarifying from your greens committee.

I don't think every immovable obstruction should be a free drop. However if you are in the middle of the right fairway and you have a yardage marker interfering I do think it would be unfair to be penalised in terms of playing a proper shot when you are in position A. If you have missed a green though like your partner and have something like a bench, ball cleaner or tee markers then it is tough unless provision is made.
 
Hmm...

Think you have this one backwards guys. The definitions says an obstruction is anything artificial - unless it is declared an integral pert of the course. So "everything" is an obstruction unless the committee says so. A ball washer will defininely be an obstruction and you'll get relief (unless your committee is a particularly sadistic bunch of critters..)
 
Hmm...

Think you have this one backwards guys. The definitions says an obstruction is anything artificial - unless it is declared an integral pert of the course. So "everything" is an obstruction unless the committee says so. A ball washer will defininely be an obstruction and you'll get relief (unless your committee is a particularly sadistic bunch of critters..)

Quite right old boy....
 
Top