Rule 14 - free relief question.

oltimer

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
313
Visit site
Can one when playing with preferred lies in operation be allowed to use say a hard distance ball for tee shots then when having a pref/lie near the Green to change it for a soft spin ball for a better feel to pitch or chip onto the Green ?
 
Is it that cut and dried?

Rule 6.3b

When taking relief under a Rule, including when either dropping a ball or placing a ball (such as when a ball will not stay in the relief area or when taking relief on the putting green), the player may use either the original ball or another ball,

Are preferred lies classed as relief?
 
Yes.

The new rules have a little quirk.

If you lift your ball and have to replace it in its original position, then you must use the original ball.
But if dropping or placing elsewhere a different ball may be used. This would apply when taking relief or when using preferred lies.

From the LR " .......by placing the original ball or another ball ......"
 
Last edited:
Yes.
The new rules have a little quirk.
If you lift your ball and have to replace it in its original position, then you must use the original ball.
But if dropping or placing elsewhere a different ball may be used. This would apply when taking relief or when using preferred lies.

What do you think of the ''Rickie Fowler penalty'' thread in the lounge?
 
Can one when playing with preferred lies in operation be allowed to use say a hard distance ball for tee shots then when having a pref/lie near the Green to change it for a soft spin ball for a better feel to pitch or chip onto the Green ?

It does have it's downside - it assumes you hit the fairway with the first ball if you are doing it deliberately.
 
Yes.

The new rules have a little quirk.

If you lift your ball and have to replace it in its original position, then you must use the original ball.
But if dropping or placing elsewhere a different ball may be used. This would apply when taking relief or when using preferred lies.

From the LR " .......by placing the original ball or another ball ......"
Thanks - will now lift the ball without marking its position then change it to one of a different colour and wait for the reactions of my oppo`s
 
I seem to remember a Ryder cup incident where Seve and Ollie accused the Yanks of swapping to a different compression ball.
Can't remember the outcome though :confused:
 
Yes.

The new rules have a little quirk.

If you lift your ball and have to replace it in its original position, then you must use the original ball.
But if dropping or placing elsewhere a different ball may be used. This would apply when taking relief or when using preferred lies.

From the LR " .......by placing the original ball or another ball ......"

Just a slight aside here. Whilst you do not need to mark the point of your ball to identify it if you are playing preferred lies I take it you still need to mark the point of your ball
 
Just a slight aside here. Whilst you do not need to mark the point of your ball to identify it if you are playing preferred lies I take it you still need to mark the point of your ball

You do need to mark the position of the ball if you are lifting it to identify it.

Lifting under the preferred lies option you do not. However it is advisable to mark if your intention is move away from the spot (such as going to trolley to clean it) it is advisable to ensure it is placed within the required distance.
 
I seem to remember a Ryder cup incident where Seve and Ollie accused the Yanks of swapping to a different compression ball.
Can't remember the outcome though :confused:
That was an issue with the Tour's "one ball Rule", where it's required to play the same brand and model of ball throughout the round. It was during foursomes and the Americans inadvertently switched to the other player's brand and model of ball.
 
Just re-reading this thread..
Can I get absolute clarification...

If I use a Tour Soft from the tee and hit the fairway - we're playing preferred lies - I can walk up to my ball, pick it up without marking it's position and put a ProV1 down within a few inches of where the original one was...

Am I understanding that correctly?
 
Just re-reading this thread..

Can I get absolute clarification...

If I use a Tour Soft from the tee and hit the fairway - we're playing preferred lies - I can walk up to my ball, pick it up without marking it's position and put a ProV1 down within a few inches of where the original one was...

Am I understanding that correctly?

It is all part of speeding up play and simplifying the rules.

It is much easier to bring in a rule (you may substitute a ball when taking relief) which says you can do this at anytime rather than say you can do this there but not there.

There are some relief situations where if you had to play the original ball it may involve a 500 yard walk to retrieve it and go back to where you hit the last shot from eg hitting a power line.
 
Yes.

The new rules have a little quirk.

If you lift your ball and have to replace it in its original position, then you must use the original ball.
But if dropping or placing elsewhere a different ball may be used. This would apply when taking relief or when using preferred lies.

From the LR " .......by placing the original ball or another ball ......"

But surely not a different **TYPE** of ball? You're not allowed to change ball types during the play of a single hole, that hasn't changed has it?
 
Is it that cut and dried?

Rule 6.3b

When taking relief under a Rule, including when either dropping a ball or placing a ball (such as when a ball will not stay in the relief area or when taking relief on the putting green), the player may use either the original ball or another ball,

Are preferred lies classed as relief?
But surely not a different **TYPE** of ball? You're not allowed to change ball types during the play of a single hole, that hasn't changed has it?
From the answer I posted above the 2019 rules don’t state “type”
 
Top