Rough that’s too rough

sulgolf

Visit site
Yo I’m new here and I was wondering if any of you lot have the same problem as me where the rough (at my local club) just off the edge of the fairway is far too long to hit out of, punishing errant tee shots way too much and making the game less enjoyable.
Anyone agree that it can be too rough?
EDIT: might’ve made it seem like I’m new to the game, I’m not, just new to the forum.

Last edited:

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Yo I’m new here and I was wondering if any of you lot have the same problem as me where the rough (at my local club) just off the edge of the fairway is far too long to hit out of, punishing errant tee shots way too much and making the game less enjoyable.
Anyone agree that it can be too rough?
Welcome along.

Where do you play? I like to see a club have a defined fairway followed by a strip of semi-rough which should give the ball a chance to sit down and potentially cost a shot but allows a player to move it forward and then some heavier rough if you are way off line where you then have to make a decision on how to progress. In the summer some areas of my own course has knee high rough in the summer but these are way off the driving line and so if you go in it's usually a reload but if you go there you deserve to be punished

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
Yes I agree, some rough is too rough. Rough should punish but not hold up the play or cost too many balls. When my place, a parkland course, gets it right you can see the ball but you can't advance it far out of there. It punishes you but not everyone else whilst you search for your ball. When it gets it wrong it eats too many balls and too much time is wasted searching.

It's a tough line to walk for green keepers and sometimes the weather can prevent them from getting it how they want. Clearly the greens committee at a club may also set the rough parameters, not the green keepers.

Parsaregood

Head Pro
Visit site