Rescue Wood ?

Oops!

Hacker
Visit site
Hello !

When I started playing golf back in the 1990th, there where plenty of so called "rescue woods" with a quite special ("V"-) shaped sole. I think its intention was to "split" the rough so that the club would pass through and hit the ball without any leaves of grass between ball and clubface.

A good example might be this one.

When now - after some time of a break - looking for a new (very forgiving) club to play balls slightly off the fairway from the semi rough to make up some distance, but quite precisely nevertheless, I didn't find any of that shape any more. Obviously it didn't become widely accepted - and I wonder why ?!? Didn't it work as intended ? It seemed to make sense to me !?

What (kind of) club would you today recommend instead ? I still have a Taylor Made SLDR S RR, but I'm not happy with it and in the end I prefer the "normal" wood 5 instead, because it obviously suits me better ... !?

BTW, I'd consider myself as an "advanced beginner" ... ! ;-)

TIA !

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
do you mean something like this

016.JPG

This is a Wilson Invex. Mine is 7 wood on 3 wood shaft. Fantastic club out of the rough when you want good distance.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I'm not shure : It looks quite different from the pictures I linked above !?!

Yes very difficult to get a good photo of the shape but the principle is very similar to the Ginty wood. i.e. very little of the sole is contact with the ground when the shot is being played and as the club passed through long grass there is minimal contact from the sides of the club with it's pear shape.

Similar idea from Adams with their fairway woods (which were reckoned to be the best in their day).

002.JPG

001.JPG

Ps the Adams head is for sale for £5 if interested.

casuk

Head Pro
Visit site