Replacing a damaged club

LincolnShep

Head Pro
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
1,354
Location
Lincoln
Visit site
You probably all saw McIlroy breaking his 3 wood at Troon on Saturday. He wasn't allowed to replace it because it hadn't broken during 'normal' play.

Hypothetically, if Rory had started his round with only thirteen clubs in his bag, could he have then put a new 3 wood in his bag after breaking his first one?

Thanks,
Shep
 
No as it was the three wood he broke in anger he can't replace that particular club.

Thanks DCB, I understand that 'replacement' is not permitted but my question was about 'addition' - if he only had thirteen clubs at the beginning of his round, could he then add another one during the round?
 
Hypothetically, if Rory had started his round with only thirteen clubs in his bag, could he have then put a new 3 wood in his bag after breaking his first one?

Thanks,
Shep

Yes , provided the addition doesn't take him beyond 14 clubs including the broken one, doesn't unduly delay play and otherwise complies with 4.4 (a)
 
No as it was the three wood he broke in anger he can't replace that particular club.

This decision suggests otherwise:

[h=2]4-3/8[/h] [h=4]Player Starting with 13 Clubs Breaks Putter in Anger and Replaces It[/h] Q.A player who started a round with 13 clubs broke his putter in anger, i.e., other than in the normal course of play, during the first nine holes. He bought another putter in the pro shop after the first nine holes and used it for the remainder of the round. Rule 4-3a(iii) permits replacing a club only if it becomes unfit for play in the normal course of play. Was the player subject to penalty?

A.No. Since he started with 13 clubs, he was entitled to add another club under Rule 4-4a
 
Thanks duncan and rosecott, I often play with a half set so, next time I snap a club, I can ring the wife and ask her to bring me another!! :thup:
 
Thanks duncan and rosecott, I often play with a half set so, next time I snap a club, I can ring the wife and ask her to bring me another!! :thup:

Better still ask her to drive to buy you that expensive one from the pro shop you have been eying up then run out to find you o the course and hand it over....
 
This decision suggests otherwise:

4-3/8

Player Starting with 13 Clubs Breaks Putter in Anger and Replaces It

Q.A player who started a round with 13 clubs broke his putter in anger, i.e., other than in the normal course of play, during the first nine holes. He bought another putter in the pro shop after the first nine holes and used it for the remainder of the round. Rule 4-3a(iii) permits replacing a club only if it becomes unfit for play in the normal course of play. Was the player subject to penalty?

A.No. Since he started with 13 clubs, he was entitled to add another club under Rule 4-4a

You would have to be really quick mind to go in the shop after 9, grab a putter, pay for it and get on the 10th without unduly delaying play
 
You would have to be really quick mind to go in the shop after 9, grab a putter, pay for it and get on the 10th without unduly delaying play

Wander in, grab putter, tell them to stick it on your account and remove packaging walking down the 10th. Far less time needed than
1. Ladies visiting the changing room
2. Those having a bacon bap and a cupper at the halfway hut
 
Interesting that the tour vans have to leave when the tournament starts and only one is allowed to remain for general stuff. I believe this works on a rota system so if the Nike van had to leave he might struggle to get a new one built to spec as the vans would be travelling to the next ET venue.

Similar thing happened to Brooks Keopka at the Wales Open went a 4 iron got the treatment for a poor shot in round 3. Played round 4 with 13 clubs.
 
Top