• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Repairing turf after missing the ball?

Beezerk

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
14,367
Location
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Visit site
Bit of a silly one this but I'm not sure of the rules so I'll put it to the experts.
Fella today totally duffed his pitch, he took one of those massive divots way before the ball which curled up almost covering it. The divot was still attached to the grass btw.
He flattened it down with his wedge as it was clear couldn't hit his ball, then took his next shot.

Is this allowed?
Is it ok has you would usually repair a divot after a shot anyway?

I kind of felt sorry for him but I wasn't sure if it was improving his lie or not.

Over to you chaps and chapeses.
 
As the divot was still 'attached' it was not a loose impediment and therefore should not have been moved. He therefore improved his lie.
Dec 13-2/5
 
[h=2]13-2/5[/h] [h=4]Replacing or Removing Undetached Divot[/h]Q.A player's ball comes to rest in front of a divot which is folded over but not completely detached. The divot interferes with his backswing. May the player replace or remove the divot before playing?

A.No. A divot which is not completely detached is not a loose impediment. It is something fixed and therefore its removal or replacement would be a breach of Rule 13-2 as the lie and area of intended swing would be improved.


 
One could ask a further question - even if the divot was completely removed from just behind his ball, could he replace it before his next stroke without breaching Rule 13-2?
 
One could ask a further question - even if the divot was completely removed from just behind his ball, could he replace it before his next stroke without breaching Rule 13-2?

Not sure why you are asking a question I'm sure you know the answer to....but the answer is no.
 
Top