Recommend a good priced telly

Cernunnos

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Looking round for one of these new fangled wide screened tellys in the 37" to 42" range.

From what I've been led to believe the better the contrast ratio the better, but that the electronic engine in the telly also has a lot to do with it, so I've been told.

So here is the challenge... I don't really want to spend much more than £400 & something quid, (certainly no more than £500) but want quality that I'll apreciate from both Sky, Freeview & my new Samsung DVD recorder with 1080 upscalling, which is my new toy so to speak.

So any suggestions, so Far I seem to have seen Samsung Toshiba & LG Tellys that I like, but need to make a final desision.

Oh & what are the Pro's & con's between LCD & Plasma, as opinion seems to keep changing as to which is flavour of the month. Seems to me Plasma is likely to get damaged too easily, but as I'm no expert only able to go by what I'ved picked up, other opinions & experience will be welcome as I try & narrow down the seach for a suitably well priced New TV

medwayjon

Tour Winner
www.snodhurstcarsales.co.uk
Plasma is a better picture however life expentancy is allegedly shorter.

I remember when the first plasmas were £15,000, I sold a couple of them in fact, scary.

Plasma for me to be honest as picture quality is paramount for that sort of money.

Samsung are excellent, as are toshiba. However in my eyes you can get no better than Sony unless you can afford to spend bang & olufsen type money.

theeaglehunter

Tour Winner
Visit site
I can't see you getting a 1080p television above 37" in size from one of the big names for below £500. Something like this should fit your criteria I think: http://www.currys.co.uk:80/martprd/store...gory_oid=-34810 It is a decent manufacturer with the required 1080p capability, it also has a decent contrast ratio and looks good in the flesh, is 32" not enough?