Reading a putt with toric contacts

RogB

Medal Winner
Visit site
Does anybody use toric contact lenses when playing golf? I've recently picked up some everyday disposables for playing sport, ditching the glasses in the rain is great and i can now spot my ball from miles away. But having an astigmatism in both eyes I have toric lenses which are weighted slightly to rotate. I'm finding it difficult to read putts with them as when I look down on the ball and sideways the greens appear to slope:eek: Is this just me with a new excuse for lousy putting or a recognised problem? Do you get used to it?

Unfortunately for the first time my normal glasses are varifocals so unless looking straight ahead straight lines appear bent and i haven't got a single vision set in my normal prescription. I was hoping the contacts would be the solution but after a couple of rounds with over 40 putts or so I'm struggling somewhat (I'm just a novice but 32-36 putts is more usual for me).

Cheers
RogB

pbrown7582

Money List Winner
Visit site
I think it might just be a case of getting used to the change.
I wear daily disposables for an astigmatism and don't find any problems reading the greens although hitting where I want is a separate issue!
Are your dailies an exact prescription or best fit as some cannot be made in some prescription I believe.

MashieNiblick

Tour Winner
Visit site
I wear toric lenses and can't say they make any difference at all to reading putts. I read and misread my fair share of putts.

If I read your post correctly it seems you are describing the effect of standing over the ball addressing it and then turning your head to look along the line and reading the put that way. If that is the case that could be the problem. I would not recommend that as a technique for reading putts as your eyes won't be level.