• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Raking bunker before taking your shot out

I don't think anyone has addressed Mike's specific question. If I rake a bunker to care for the course, then take my shot and the ball ends up in the area just raked, is there a penalty?

Overlooked that one. There is no penalty as a result of where your ball ends up. Any breach of 13-2 occurs before you play by improving your line of play, lie or stance. Your line of play is the direction you wish your ball to go in and if it bounces back off the face on to the bit you legitimately raked, that doesn't retrospectively make that area on your line of play. It is not what you wished for!
 
I expect I can, but I was hoping you could support your view with an illustration rather than just assert it.

I was in a bunker some 20 yards long with the rake at the other end of the bunker, nowhere near the line of play. I raked the marks left by the rake and went to play my shot. It was a county match and I was penalized by a county rules official for testing the bunker hence my grey area. It was a county rules man and even after discussion later in the day, none of the rules guys suggested he was wrong.
 
I was in a bunker some 20 yards long with the rake at the other end of the bunker, nowhere near the line of play. I raked the marks left by the rake and went to play my shot. It was a county match and I was penalized by a county rules official for testing the bunker hence my grey area. It was a county rules man and even after discussion later in the day, none of the rules guys suggested he was wrong.

when was this ? it hasn't always been the case that it's OK to do.
 
Grey area, who's to say your maintaining the bunker or testing the condition of the bunker.

It's a matter of personal integrity! Or the opinion of the RO! Not a 'grey area' at all! It might have been a good idea to explain to him what you were going to do! He could have then ruled as to whether he would consider it 'testing the surface' or simply 'maintaining the bunker'! So penalty avoided!

It's quite acceptable to rake your (or anyone else's footprints (or other issues) footprints (as long as it's not 'testing the surface'), even in an area where it's possible that a bungled 'out' might land - because the restriction is only on the 'next' shot, not any possible subsequent one!
 
Last edited:
I was in a bunker some 20 yards long with the rake at the other end of the bunker, nowhere near the line of play. I raked the marks left by the rake and went to play my shot. It was a county match and I was penalized by a county rules official for testing the bunker hence my grey area. It was a county rules man and even after discussion later in the day, none of the rules guys suggested he was wrong.

I now understand the basis of your comments. If what happened took place any time after the beginning of 2012, you have been misled by a wrong ruling in my view. What you did is exactly the sort of action I expect the exception was introduced for. Sensible saving of time and effort.
 
The Anaconda bunker at Chart Hills in Kent runs almost the full length of a par 5, you could be in it for several shots and it'd be some walk back to rake it if the new rule didnt apply
 
The general rule of "life's too short to argue with other players and referees when it can be avoided" :mmm:

Easily countered with "life's to short to wait 5 minutes before spending 3 minutes raking a bunker just to avoid having to ask Muppets to explain exactly which rule they believe I am breaching...."
 
Top