Raking bunker before taking your shot out

Skypilot

Assistant Pro
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
314
Location
Peterborough
Visit site
My brothers been at it again.
He's in the habit of raking the bunker, if he thinks it needs it, PRIOR to taking his shot out.

I told him your not meant to do this but he argues that he's not moving his ball or getting any advantage.
My understanding is that it's against the rules as you can assess the the conditions etc of the sand.

What are the rules on this please?
 
You are allowed to rake the bunker before taking your shot provided it is for course maintenance only. E.g. If the rake is at the opposite side of the bunker to your ball and you retrieve it and rake your footprints that is fine. What's not ok, for example, is raking the area immediately behind your ball to improve your lie.
 
Good for him in improving the bunker for other players.

Just tell him to do it after he's played his shot to avoid any issues.

If he raked part of the bunker and then played his shot and left his ball in the area he had just raked he might have some explaining to do.
 
Pulling all that together....

Exception 2 to 13-4 says you can do it as long as you aren't in breach of 13-2.

13-2 relates to Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play so stay clear of the areas that could be construed as impacting any of these and you are OK to tidy up and care for the course.
 
Good for him in improving the bunker for other players.

Just tell him to do it after he's played his shot to avoid any issues.

If he raked part of the bunker and then played his shot and left his ball in the area he had just raked he might have some explaining to do.

what's the point in making the exception if you tell people to ignore it.

better to make sure others know the correct rules
 
what's the point in making the exception if you tell people to ignore it.

better to make sure others know the correct rules

Sorry not sure of the point you are making.

As posted the rules are clear - my point was regarding timing to avoid anyone calling for a penalty if he left a ball in the bunker and it was in an area he had just raked.

Best to take care of the course after he has exited the bunker.
 
The point is that you are advising us not to rake until we have played from the bunker when the rule is perfectly clear that we are permitted to rake before playing provided it's a matter of looking after the course and does not breach Rule 13-2. Why advise us not to do something which we are allowed to do and which can save time and effort? If others don't know the rule, that's their problem. They can't penalise you.
 
Last edited:
Grey area, who's to say your maintaining the bunker or testing the condition of the bunker.

Why make simple things difficult? I walk into a bunker where the rake is and my ball is at the other end. I walk through the bunker raking my footprints as I go to save time as I will be exiting the bunker near where I play my stroke. I don't rake anywhere near my ball. That is black or maybe it's white, but it certainly isn't grey.

And in answer to your question, the facts that there is clearly a reason for raking and that I am clearly doing no more than raking out footprints in themselves should show that I am only caring for the course.
 
Unfortunately it's not simple unless you are saying that a player can no longer be accused of testing the state of a bunker.

It is simple and I am not saying there is no way a player can be seen to be testing the condition of a bunker. What actions with a rake would you suggest could be a cause for concern that a player is testing the bunker?
 
Unfortunately it's not simple unless you are saying that a player can no longer be accused of testing the state of a bunker.

The 2nd Exception to 13-4 makes no mention of testing.

At any time, the player may smooth sand or soil in a hazard provided this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke.

The 1st Exception mentions testing but is not concerned with raking.

The RBs have obviously recognised that raking may provide information about part of the bunker but they are prepared to give priority to care of the course.
 
Last edited:
I don't think anyone has addressed Mike's specific question. If I rake a bunker to care for the course, then take my shot and the ball ends up in the area just raked, is there a penalty?
 
I don't think anyone has addressed Mike's specific question. If I rake a bunker to care for the course, then take my shot and the ball ends up in the area just raked, is there a penalty?

Surely if you solely rake to care for the course then, once done, any subsequent occurrence is immaterial?
 
I don't think anyone has addressed Mike's specific question. If I rake a bunker to care for the course, then take my shot and the ball ends up in the area just raked, is there a penalty?

No - stand rules answer applies....what rule do You (or mike) believe is being breached?

However, if you rake on your line of play you have breached rule 13-2 regardless of whether your ball ends up in that area or not (hence the answer to the question as posed).

If you can reasonably anticipate your ball ending up in specific area after your next stroke you should avoid that area as your anticipation brings that area into the reasonable limits of your line of play.
 
Top