Rabbit Hole

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
One of team players hit a wayward drive in to the edge of trees lining the fairway, when we found his ball is was down a rabbit hole/scrape, lying on top of a twig, the Referee was called over and agreed it was a rabbit hole, but denied relief as the ball was lying on a twig and not directly on the soil and stated that was an exception to the rule.
Can anyone clarify the exception please.
 
Refs are not always right
Was he a proper qualified one or just a member filling in.
It pays to know the rules or at least the basic ones.
County Rules Official who , apparently, has officiated at a lot higher level.
 
County Rules Official who , apparently, has officiated at a lot higher level.
Shame.

He/she was probably getting confused by the initial bullet defining interference....which does start "the players ball touches....an abnormal ground condition".

However, the bit in the middle covers "or is in, or on," and a second alternative bullet includes interference to stroke or stance - As Colin was highlighting earlier.

As presented it sounds like a very duff ruling
 
Top