Quick rules question

The answer from the R&A is in, complete with original typo:

Thank you for your email and query on the Rules of Golf.

Generally such statements are made as a courtesy, rather than to council or influence the player in his play. So by advising a player to hit a provisional (more than likely with the intention it will save the group time) is not considered “advice” in breach of Rule 8-1.

I hope that this is of assistance.

Kind regards

[Name deleted]
Assistant Director - Rules
The R&A, St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, KY16 9JD
 
The answer from the R&A is in, complete with original typo:

Thank you for your email and query on the Rules of Golf.

Generally such statements are made as a courtesy, rather than to council or influence the player in his play. So by advising a player to hit a provisional (more than likely with the intention it will save the group time) is not considered “advice” in breach of Rule 8-1.

I hope that this is of assistance.

Kind regards

[Name deleted]
Assistant Director - Rules
The R&A, St Andrews, Fife, Scotland, KY16 9JD

What a relief! Common sense is alive and well.... :)
 
Excellent. That's exactly the response that should have been given, but it's nice to have it formally confirmed.

Well done R&A & Ethan
 
Top