• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Quick Rules Question

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
3,542
Location
Cumbria
Visit site
Played today and 17th at our place is over a quarry. Guy hits his ball into the quarry face and plays a provisional which goes further than the original.

He then 'finds' his original plays the ball hits it 5 yards and hits it again and then realises he has played the wrong ball. At this stage he has played his 'original' 3 times twice hitting the wrong ball.

What are his options and how many shots will he have played when he hits his the ball again please?
 
The penalty for playing a wrong ball is 2 strokes in strokeplay or loss of hole in matchplay.

I'm not sure if his second swipe at the wrong ball counts as another penalty in strokeplay or it's just the one 2 shot penalty no matter how many times he hits it.

Obviously he then has to play his own ball from where it is.
 
2 shots each time he hit the wrong one then play the provisional so I would say 7 when he hit the provisional. What was the outcome?
 
Shots played with the wrong ball dont count.
If he still cant find his original ball within the 5 minutes, the provisional is played and it will be his 4th shot (2 shot pen)

Rule 15/3
 
Played today and 17th at our place is over a quarry. Guy hits his ball into the quarry face and plays a provisional which goes further than the original.

He then 'finds' his original plays the ball hits it 5 yards and hits it again and then realises he has played the wrong ball. At this stage he has played his 'original' 3 times twice hitting the wrong ball.

What are his options and how many shots will he have played when he hits his the ball again please?

The penalty for playing a wrong ball in strokeplay is 2 strokes, regardless of how many strokes you have with a wrong ball.
You haven't said if the original was found or not - I assume it wasn't, so if he then played the provisional as his fourth stroke, whatever he scored with that ball, he should add 2 strokes to the total.
If he signs his card for any other lower score than that, he should be disqualified for signing for a wrong score.
 
Assuming the ball wasn't in a hazard, where you can't play the wrong ball, then he needs to add 2 shots - shots with the wrong ball do not count, and then play his correct ball or his provisional if he can't find the original. So he hits his tee shot, plays 2 shots with the wrong ball, then finds and plays his original, then he has played 4 (tee shot, 2 shot penalty, next shot with original ball). If he fails to fins the original, then has to play with the provisional, then he is playing 6 (3 off tee, 2 shot penalty, then next shot with proper ball is 6)

If he fails to correct the wrong ball before finishing the hole, DQ.
 
The last update of the Rules of Golf (2008) removed the rule that said playing a wrong ball in a hazard didn't count! It is a 2 stroke penalty in strokeplay, loss of hole in matchplay whether from a hazard or not.
 
Shots played with the wrong ball dont count.
If he still cant find his original ball within the 5 minutes, the provisional is played and it will be his 4th shot (2 shot pen)

Rule 15/3

:o doh
it will be his 4th shot +
2 shot pen
 
How in god's name can you play a ball (twice )without identifying it as yours? Whatever penalty he deserves it for downright stupidity.

It always amazes me how many people have no idea what ball they are playing.
 
The original ball was not found. The provisional was in front of the original. It was NOT a medal today but a stableford and on the basis it was SI 4 hittting into a headwind and he still had 300 metres to the flag, the guy played off 21, he picked up! Common sense prevailed

Suppose the provisional had not reached the first ball and he played the provisional, playing 4, then found the original , duffed it what would happen then.

Sorry tobe a pain the the rectum
 
Suppose the provisional had not reached the first ball and he played the provisional, playing 4, then found the original , duffed it what would happen then.
Normal rules for a provisional would apply. He can keep playing the provisional so long as does not play a shot closer to the hole than the original. Once he plays a shot with the provisional from closer to the hole than the original, then the provisional is the ball in play and the original is lost.
 
Top