Quest for a putter

Basher

Tour Winner
yorkshiregolf.proboards.com
As the ongoing saga continues, I tried a few putters today.

The one that made an impression on me was the Taylor Made Rossa Monte Carlo.

162981.jpg

An unusual putter for me as I have never used one before. I've had the standard blade type.
I have to admit that this putter felt good. A little strange with the centre shaft, a small looking head but it definitely felt solid in my hands.

Anybody else have any experience with this model? I assume TM are a company which produces quality gear. I noticed the putter was assembled in USA, the shaft was American and the head was Chi..bloody..nese!

RGuk

Tour Winner
Visit site
Taylor Made are doing some damn fine putters of late. I've tried all sorts and can only say if you like the feel of it and it goes well, pick it up.
Don't worry about the chinese-made head, 90% of all iron heads are manufactured out there...to the highest standards.

billyg

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Had a go of the Monza model a couple of weeks ago and liked it a great deal. The only thing that worries me a little with insert putters is some are very soft and, for want of a more technical phrase, the 'boing' effect is something I can't quite get my head round :D

Wouldn't worry about components being sourced from other countries*. Many products we think of as being british or american carry the label - 'assembled in UK...' etc. which clearly isn't the same as 'Made in...'

* if the ethics of far east production plays on your mind then for goodness sake don't read anything along the lines of ' No logo' by Naomi Klein- it won't help

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I like the Rossa but felt it was quite firm off the head. If you are interested I just got one of the Ping Anser's. It is quite a solid feeling putter, slightly heavier than most I've tried lately. It has an old fashioned face in that it has no insert or grooves on but is just a flat face.