(Push) Slice - need help.

Fabia999

Visit site
Hey,

I thought I hit a slice, Googled it and it looks like a push slice.

I have seen a pro and I am doing the drills he’s given me (baseball style drill) where I use my wrists more. This isn’t helping and I’m going to see him next week. This has only started since I bought a new driver, it’s also happening when I try to go back to my old one.

He explained that I am leaving the face open on impact and I’m out of ideas on how to fix it. A good golfer friend has told me to hood the club at address. This helped slightly hitting it straight but I couldn’t hardly get it off the floor.

I have hit it well, but it’s like 1/10. I had to take a 5W off the tee today and it wasn’t great, I need my driver back so can anybody please give me advice on how to fix this, I’m willing to give anything a try now.
Cheers all

Oldham92

Hacker
Visit site
I'm no expert ? but I struggled with a slice when I started. The issue was the clubface at address. Was lining up with driver closed face (almost like angled slightly left - right handed golfer). Opened it up more, almost like it's pointing to my right, and I'm pretty accurate with it now

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site
I had this, I’ve spent lockdown fixing it.

Pretty much the Chris Ryan drills on the takeaway.

You will fix it if you use your wrists more but you will make it worst if you use your wrists more wrongly.

I take the club back fine but my first move is a drop to the inside and when I try to fix that I push/slice it as I can’t keep the face square.

We may be coming to the same result in different ways so be careful.

Canary_Yellow

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I had a similar problem, the cause for me was fanning the club open in the back swing.

The solution for me was to feel like I kept the club face square throughout the swing, which for me was essentially keeping my wrists quiet all the way through (which feels shut at the top).