Provisionals and unplayables

His options were to play the ball as it was, or deem it unplayable and drop a) where he played his previous stroke, or b) back on the line from the hole through where the ball lay or c) within two club lengths not nearer the hole. With b) and c) the ball must be dropped in the bunker and come to rest in the bunker.

I have to question that. If the bunker face was stacked turf, then it's not part of the bunker and consequently there is no requirement to drop within the bunker.
 
I have to question that. If the bunker face was stacked turf, then it's not part of the bunker and consequently there is no requirement to drop within the bunker.
Nor is it a closely mown area, so no relief for an embedded ball unless the relevant Local Rule was in force.
 
I have to question that. If the bunker face was stacked turf, then it's not part of the bunker and consequently there is no requirement to drop within the bunker.

Nor is it a closely mown area, so no relief for an embedded ball unless the relevant Local Rule was in force.

I wasn't suggesting relief. I was commenting on options after an unplayable declaration.
 
There was a thread here a while ago that stated that if a ball was embedded far enough that it was outside the confines of the bunker . I think a free drop was allowed ???????? edit, thread was --IN THE BUNKER OR NOT
 
Last edited:
I have to question that. If the bunker face was stacked turf, then it's not part of the bunker and consequently there is no requirement to drop within the bunker.

Hmmm. The question was about a ball embedded in the face of a bunker. If the ground bordering a bunker is turf stacked, it is not part of the bunker, not the" face of a bunker." My reply was limited to the limits of the question.
 
If I were fleeing the country I would hope to have sinister and infinitely more lucrative reasons for doing so than the fear of having been rude :)
 
Strikes me that we cause confusion by referring to the 'face of the bunker' when we are in fact talking about 'stacked turf' or 'revetting' on the periphery of a bunker. Am I correct?

Seems to me that the bunker is a part of the course filled - by design - with sand. So instead of talking about a ball being 'embedded in the face OF a bunker' we should talk about it being 'embedded in the face TO the bunker', the former clearly implies the face being a composite part of the bunker - the latter clearly being quite separate from the bunker.
 
The Definition is careful not to use the expression face of the bunker with regard to a revetted/turf-stacked area: it refers to the ground bordering a bunker - the expression I used above. In other words it clearly points to that ground's not being in the bunker.
 
The Definition is careful not to use the expression face of the bunker with regard to a revetted/turf-stacked area: it refers to the ground bordering a bunker - the expression I used above. In other words it clearly points to that ground's not being in the bunker.

So indeed we confuse things my using 'f-o-t-b' - as the definition says it's all ground bordering the bunker and I suppose actually nothing at all to do with the bunker itself.
 
The Definition is careful not to use the expression face of the bunker with regard to a revetted/turf-stacked area: it refers to the ground bordering a bunker - the expression I used above. In other words it clearly points to that ground's not being in the bunker.

Yes but it does use the phrase "stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen)" identified as not being part of the bunker.
 
indeed it does but as you say, not as being part of the bunker because the term is used in qualification of the "ground bordering the bunker". Clever stuff, but they've been in the business of getting it precise for over 3 centuries!
 
Top