Prizes for comps

jpjeffery

Assistant Pro
learnergolfer.wordpress.com
My club is the only (golf) club I've been a member of, so I have no experience or visibility of how things happen in others, but I'd like to know how we compare.

First some context: We're a club that doesn't own any property other than the perpetual cups and shields and the like. So, no course, no buildings, no staff, instead we're hosted at a (high-ish end) public course. We have around 75 members. Annual subscription is under £100, so we're not exactly an expensive, nor rich club.

Monthly medals have no sweep - unless members playing decide to organise one within their group(s) - and no entry fee. Winners receive a small shield after the AGM in early December. It's a very similar arrangement for the Bank Holiday Mixed roll-ups.

For all Tee Closure Perpetual Comps there is a £3 entry fee, plus an optional £2 sweep. At the end of the competition we divvy out the sweep money to the top two or three winners (depending on the size of the field), with the overall winner getting more than 2nd place, who gets more than 3rd (assuming they paid in to the sweep - such a gamble for crappy players like me!)

At the AGM we give out prizes to the Tee Closure Winners.

At our Captains' Day we give out some extra prizes such as sleeves or boxes of balls for the top 3, bottles of booze, and for Longest Drives and Nearest the Pin (both for men and for ladies). Likewise for our two Away Day competitions (less the drinks).

How does this compare to your club or previous clubs? Would any of this put you off joining (or renewing) a club that had a similar arrangement? For context, please summarise what 'sort' of club, or even society, you're a member of.

Cheers, all!

Bunkermagnet

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Our monthly medals are £3 entry, with a £1 for 2's sweep. Shop vouchers for first and second, with those with a 2 sharing the pot (if they entered) with moneies put back onto their swipe card.